Love People. Like Things.

a blog about all the people i love, and all the things i like.

Goat Cheese and Wine Sauce Puffs January 8, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — lindsayt85 @ 3:17 pm

The other day I tried (note the word ‘tried’) to make wine jelly. My parents got me canning tools for Christmas, so I was antsy to do some home canning and I figured jelly was a pretty safe place to start. And I found this recipe that sounded delicious… So I thought I’d start there.

I stopped by the grocery store to grab some pectin on the way home and I was ready to go. So I gathered my ingredients, and got to cooking. About 20 seconds in, I realized I didn’t have enough wine. I went back to the grocery store. Started cooking again, and about 1 minute later we magically ran out of sugar. Grocery store trip #3.

Three grocery store trips and two pots boiling over with sticky wine and sugar mixture later, I finally got to try canning. Everything went perfectly. Water bath processed for 5 minutes, and every little half pint made that beautiful pop noise you want to hear when home canning.

Except 24 hours later, the jelly was still runny. Tasted wonderful, but no where close to jelly. But I had worked so hard, and I wasn’t about to throw it away. I’d just save it for a rainy day when you’d need very runny wine not-so-jelly.

Then we got invited to a party. I needed to bring a snack. And it hit me- a beautiful combo: puff pastry + goat cheese + wine sauce. I went straight to Trader Joe’s and grabbed the first two ingredients.

And here’s how my failed attempt at wine jelly turned into the most delicious snack my kitchen has ever seen.

Preheat to 400. Prep a mini muffin pan with some cooking spray. Cut the puff pastry into small squares. The Trader Joe’s brand is a nice square and makes about 16 squares per sheet.

Put the squares into each cubby of the muffin pan. (Cubby? I don’t know, it’s all I could come up with.)

Put some goat cheese in the center of each. Maybe a little over a teaspoon- I didn’t measure, just divide it evenly.

Bake for 10 minutes. Drizzle the goat cheese with some wine sauce-supposed-to-be-jelly. Bake for 5 additional minutes.

Cool on a wire rack. If you’re anything like me, you don’t have enough patience for this step. Just be warned- hot goat cheese will burn your mouth. Try to make sure at least a dozen make it to the party. That’s the hardest step. You will want to eat them all immediately.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

