Love People. Like Things.

a blog about all the people i love, and all the things i like.

Butterscotch and White Chocolate Gingerbread December 1, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lindsayt85 @ 9:13 pm

My sweet friends Brittany and Lauren are having a cookie swap on Friday! And if you have ever read one word of this blog or have been around me for more than a day, you probably already know that this is right up my alley. I can’t wait.

The toughest thing about a cookie swap is figuring out what cookie to make. So much pressure!!! I didn’t want anything plain, but I didn’t have a ton of time, so it couldn’t be too complicated. Last time I did a cookie swap, I think I got in way over my head with something too time consuming.

I asked my should-be-professional-baker coworker if she had any ideas, and of course, she immediately had an answer. She said her favorite drop cookies were ugly but delicious and called Butterscotch Gingerbread. I did a little search on the Internet, found a good recipe base, and (of course) changed it up a little.

I’ve made 8 dozen, plus a few strays and I now have a new favorite cookie. It’s not average joe. It’s not fancy nancy. It’s delicious. And all you do is mix it up, drop, and bake. That’s my kind of cookie!

Butterscotch White Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies

  • 3 cups unbleached all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ginger
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (I personally think you could almost double this. Salty cookies are out of this world.)
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup brown sugar, loosely measured (none of this packed mess)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup molasses
  • 3/4 bag butterscotch chips
  • 1/2 bag white chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl, mix flour, soda, and spices. Set aside.

In a stand mixer with paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugar. Add egg and molasses. Slowly add the dry ingredients, 1 cup at a time. Stir in butterscotch and white chocolate chips. Drop on an ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake for 9-10 minutes. Let cool on a wire rack.

I found that this recipe make about 3 dozen, depending on how much of the batter I needed to taste test 🙂

I tripled for my cookie swap, and so that Lovey could take some to work.

Enjoy!

 

4 Responses to “Butterscotch and White Chocolate Gingerbread”

  1. Carol Says:

    Those mix and drop cookies are my favs too…this looks so scrumptious, a definite yes from me!

  2. Erin Says:

    I just made these for my work’s christmas party…YUM!! Thanks for crafting and sharing this great recipe! Keep ’em coming!!

  3. robinite Says:

    i made these last week. sadly, i only had blackstrap
    molasses (and couldn’t find any “regular” or light molasses in the
    store–how infuriating!), so they came out very dark. However, they
    were also very delicious!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. dwh77 Says:

    I found this recipe on pinterest and these are AMAZING! I’m baking the last tray… and have already eaten like 4! Yummy!


Leave a Reply

