Love People. Like Things.

a blog about all the people i love, and all the things i like.

Snickerdoodle Trifle November 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lindsayt85 @ 3:59 pm

Tonight we are headed to my parents’ house to watch both the Clemson (GO TIGERS!) and Carolina games. Mom is making a huge meal and having some fun folks over for a fun time. My assignment- bring a dessert. Which is my usual assignment and doesn’t sound too hard, right? Welll…. I’m good at buttery, sugary, rich, over the top desserts. I’ve got plenty of those memorized that I can whip together at a moments notice. But tonight’s dessert needs to be figure-friendly. Pretty much everyone in my family is on some sort of diet or exercise plan and trying to lose weight. So that makes my dessert assignment a little more difficult. I searched Weight Watchers site for recipes. But then I found a snickerdoodle cupcake recipe I decided on (I’d switch the sugars out for Splenda).

But then I got to thinking about the most diet friendly dessert ever- trifles. But I was really sold on my snickerdoodle and cinnamony goodness. So I was stuck. Then the lightbulb switched on- DING DING DING! we have a winner. Why not a snickerdoodle trifle?

Snickerdoodle Trifle (diet-friendly)

  • 1 premade angel food cake (homemade or store bought)
  • 2 small packages of sugar-free, fat-free white chocolate instant jello pudding
  • 4 cups of skim milk
  • 1 T cinnamon
  • 1/4 t. ground cloves
  • 3 snack pack sized sugar-free, fat-free caramel jello pudding
  • 2 small containers of Cool Whip Free
  • Premade snickerdoodles (homemade or store bought

Cut the angel food cake into 1″ cubes.

Mix white chocolate pudding mix into 4 cups of milk and refrigerate for 5 minutes. Mix cinnamon, ground cloves, and caramel pudding into white chocolate pudding mixture.

Chop snickerdoodles.

In a trifle bowl, layer 1/2 of the angel food cake cubes, then pudding mixture, then 1/2 of the chopped snickerdoodles, and 1 tub of cool whip. For the second layer, repeat but reserve some of your snickerdoodles to decorate the top. Refrigerate for a few hours before serving to let flavors settle in.

Enjoy!

 

14 Responses to “Snickerdoodle Trifle”

  1. Mrs. Puma Says:

    This sounds delicious! And it looks really lovely for fall too.

  2. Heather Says:

    Oh wow! Two of my favorite things..trifle and snickerdoodles!! YUM!!

  3. Snickerdoodles! Now you are talking. What time is dessert? I’ll be on my way.

  4. Erin Says:

    That looks delish! Can’t wait to make it myself!! 🙂

  5. jennifer Says:

    I needed a new recipe for Thanksgiving. I was tired of the same desserts every year. I’m thrilled to find this!! Thanks!

  6. It’s hard to believe that is figure friendly. It looks amazing. Thanks so much for joining Seasonal Sundays.

    – The Tablescaper

  7. Lisa Says:

    OMG! Looks gorgeous and so yummy! I need to get a trifle bowl so I can try this!

  8. Kathleen Says:

    It looks delicious. I make the Death by Choc one, but this one does sound less calorific! 🙂

  9. Amanda Kuzak Says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with Sister Sister Sunday, we are featuring it as our favorite this Sunday. I hope you can stop by to check it out!

  10. Barb Says:

    Hi
    Just wanted to let you know that I “ Featured” you on Santa’s Gift Shoppe Blog Hop today for your great project & inspiration! Be sure to grab the “I was featured” on Santa’s Gift Shoppe Button/Code for your sidebar! You deserve it! Thanks so much..If you’re not a follower already we’d love for you to join us…
    Barb

  11. Barb Says:

    Here is a link to my blog with the Chocolate tower on it..
    http://santasgiftshoppe.blogspot.com/2009/12/chocolate-trifle-dessert-plus-more.html
    Thanks for coming over..Barb

  12. Jill Says:

    I have made this dessert so many times and its YOUR recipe!! I get requests to bring it to functions. It is YUMMY!! Thank you!

  13. Jessica Says:

    The cookies pictured look more like ginger snaps than snickerdoodles. Are they homemade or store-bought? I think ginger snaps would be really good in this.

  14. Cindy Says:

    I made this and it was delicious. Did you ever find out the Weight watchers points? How many servings or how much are in the recipe? 3/4 cup, 1 cup, etc.


Leave a Reply

