Love People. Like Things.

a blog about all the people i love, and all the things i like.

Sugar-Free Apple Butter October 30, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lindsayt85 @ 12:05 pm

It is FINALLY feeling like fall here. I was actually cold outside yesterday morning when I left for work. And our heat came on last night. I’m ready to start bundling up.

To celebrate fall finally being here, Lovey and I went on a little mountain day trip last weekend. Mainly to get a pumpkin and apple from Grandad’s, but then we turned it into a beautiful wine & cheese picnic on the lake. We got 2 pumpkins, one for outside and one for inside and a 1/2 bushel of apples because it was the best deal. A 1/2 bushel of apples is a LOT. So I decided to make apple butter. And I’m going to be making about 2 more batches because we have so many apples.

Sugar-Free Apple Butter

  • Enough apples to fill up a large crockpot once peeled and sliced
  • 2.5 cups granulated Splenda
  • 1 T. cinnamon
  • 2 t. nutmeg
  • 2 t. ginger
  • 1 T. vanilla

Peel, slice and core all apples. Place in crockpot. Pour in the remaining ingredients and stir well. Cook on high for 1 hour. Using a potato masher, begin to mash apples. Cook on low for 8-10 hours, mashing every hour. Remove the lid and cook on high 1 hour to thicken. Using a submersion blender (or a regular blender), blend the apple butter to your liking. We like ours with little apple bits, so we only blend a little. Store in the refrigerator or freeze!

Serve on toast, biscuits, muffins, or just eat it off the spoon 🙂

Enjoy!

 

5 Responses to “Sugar-Free Apple Butter”

  1. Mrs. Puma Says:

    I saw your link over at Tatertots & Jello, you’re the post before me on the link up. I looove apple butter, and this sounds delicious, great share!

    • Krystal Says:

      I bet your house smelled fantastic! Apples are one of my favorite things about fall.

      Thanks so much for linking up to Saturday’s Party! Hope you come play again!

      -Krystal @ recipesofacheapskate.blogspot.com

  2. Pegg Says:

    About how much of a quantity does this make? We just went through a jar of apple butter in one night on pancakes. I want to make some, but want to make it worth all the peeling and chopping.

    Thanks.

    • lindsayt85 Says:

      Hi Pegg!
      This makes about a quart and a half of apple butter. We used the half right away and froze the quart for later. Then of course, I made 2 more batches! One great tool- an apple corer/peeler. This thing vacuum seals to your counter and literally takes NO TIME at all the peel, core, and slice all your apples. We bought ours for $19.99 at Bed, Bath, and Beyond!

  3. hanna Says:

    Hi there! I am your newest follower. I love finding new blogs and yous is lovely:) I found you on the Fence! You can find me at http://www.bouffeebambini.blogspot.com

    Take a peek at my giveaways if you come by. Everything is handmade and gorgeous!

    All your recipes look divine!!! I think I might try the pumpkin bread:)


Leave a Reply

