Love People. Like Things.

a blog about all the people i love, and all the things i like.

Butternut & Pumpkin Soup October 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lindsayt85 @ 9:52 pm

It finally feels like Fall in Greenville! The air is cool, pumpkin spice lattes are back in action, and I wore a scarf to church this morning. I started knitting on a half-knitted sock from last winter and we’re getting beautiful winter squash in from our Fall CSA.

This butternut soup was a surprisingly tasty experiment in our home tonight. I knew I wanted butternut soup, which I’ve made before, but I also knew that I wanted to use up some canned pumpkin I had left over from pumpkin bread last week. So, I put on my safety goggles and got to work. (I didn’t really have safety goggles, although, they would come in handy during the last part… ) I’ll save you the trial and error and just give you the final recipe.

Butternut & Pumpkin Soup

  • 2 medium sized butternut squash, roasted
  • 1 can pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 c. cream (I used soymilk)
  • 2 c. chicken stock
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/4 package onion soup mix

Scoop out the flesh of the roasted squash once cooled enough to handle. Put squash, pumpkin, cream, and half of chicken stock in blender and turn on high on the liquify setting. Blend until smooth. Pour into large pot. Add in spices and the rest of the stock. Stir until smooth. Alter spices to taste.

I topped mine with toasted pine nuts and mozzarella. Lovey topped his with onion straws. I also had a few bites with some croutons.

I think next time I’ll add a little cayenne for a bit of a kick. You could also leave out the chili powder and onion soup mix and go with brown sugar and vanilla and a little more cream for a sweeter soup.

Enjoy!

 

One Response to “Butternut & Pumpkin Soup”

  1. Butternut & Pumpkin Soup « Love People. Like Things….

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…


Leave a Reply

