Love People. Like Things.

a blog about all the people i love, and all the things i like.

My Life is FUN August 22, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lindsayt85 @ 7:25 pm

I’m absolutely loving my life right now. I like cooking with my lovey, catching up on Lost, spending time with friends and family, preparing for lovey’s birthday on Friday, and enjoying the anticipation of going to the beach next week 🙂

I got to spend some time with my family and sort-of brother and his wife for his birthday celebration at my parents’ house. I’ve known Jason for a long time, he performed our wedding ceremony, and he also loves root beer. So what do you get a guy that loves root beer? A root beer sampler!

I found this idea on Homemade by Jill, one of the many blogs I subscribe to (you know, my not-so-slight obsession??). I saw this an immediate tagged it as ‘gift idea’ and had Jason in mind. I was hanging on to this creative gift idea for his birthday, so when it finally rolled around, I had just the thing in mind. I went to World Market, got 9 different kinds of root beer & assorted sodas, put them in a wooden crate I found at AC Moore, and whipped up a description label in Powerpoint. This is a great idea that could be translated into many different things- beer, wine, gourmet popcorn, candy, barbeque sauces, pretty much anything!!! So, if you get a ‘sampler’ gift from me anytime in the future, you know where the idea came from!

In food news, we’ve been cooking up some tasty things in the Thompson kitchen. We’ve had a delicious chicken, sundried tomato, and goat cheese pasta that I’m now calling my Lazy Goat knock-off pasta and I promise I’ll put up the recipe soon. We’ve made pancakes, grilled chicken, Italian sausage spaghetti.

I’ve also gotten into the habit of making fresh bread on the weekends. I have made rosemary bread for the past two weekends because we’ve gotten rosemary in our CSA. Lovey literally ate 3/4 of a loaf last night with the spaghetti 🙂 It’s just that good. I make the dough in the bread machine, but then shape it and let it do a second rise before baking it in the oven. I promise, this bread is better than what you get at restaurants. SO tasty.

Another fun thing we’ve done with the CSA goodies- parmesan stuffed and proscuitto wrapped figs with a balsamic reduction. I know that sounds like it would be crazy difficult to make, but this may have been one of the easiest things I’ve ever thrown together.

Slit the figs down the middle, but down cut all the way through. Stuff with parmesan and wrap with proscuitto. Broil on high. Meanwhile, put 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar on high and cook until reduced to half. Put the figs on a plate and drizzle with the balsamic reduction. TASTY! Really, go home and try it right now. Serve it at your next dinner party and people will think you are a rockstar. Which you probably already are, so it’s time to get discovered.

 

Leave a Reply

