Love People. Like Things.

a blog about all the people i love, and all the things i like.

Eating Local July 15, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lindsayt85 @ 9:46 pm

So we’ve been doing the CSA thing, and LOVING IT! We’ve gotten the local veggies, the local honey, the local eggs. We’ve shopped the farmer’s markets, and we’ve started eating out less. But, this week we took another step to eating locally. We bought beef from a local farm! I didn’t know how much meat we’d be getting- but it fits perfectly into our freezer!

I did a little bit of research, but mostly we got the recommendation from our CSA farmer, Robin. We bought 20.56 pounds of fresh beef, from local grass-fed cows from Marik Farms in Cowpens. The farm is located out near the battlefield and is on beautiful land. We were so impressed by David Marik’s knowledge of the beef, but mostly we were blown away by the great service we got. He’s helped us with figuring out what to do with different cuts that we’re not familiar with. Today I even shared with him the recipe we are going to use for the flank steaks, and he suggested we not pound the meat, because it’s aged 23 days and won’t need the pounding. How helpful! We will be actually eating the first of the beef tomorrow- I’ll keep you posted on how great it is!

And of course, we got more veggies!!! This week we got a ton of stuff, and I’m really liking the variety!

We got: squash, cucumbers, eggplant, green bell pepper, tomato, beets, okra, honey, and the eggs.

And then… there’s this:

What the heck??? It looks like a really fat corndog. It’s the same size as the eggplant we got. Josh asked Robin what it was and… the answer is:

AN HEIRLOOM CUCUMBER!

Have you ever had an heirloom cucumber? What do you do with it? If it’s anything like an heirloom tomato- I’ll just eat it like a regular cucumber. Maybe I’ll take it with me tomorrow to dip in my hummus.

Eating local is becoming much easier than I thought it would be. Of course, we aren’t 100% local. We still visit the grocery store with our coupons once a week. But we figured that the things that come with the most ‘added unseens’ are the veggies and the meats. So if we can just get those without the antibiotics, steriods, and pesticides, then thats a step in the right direction.

And… just because I’m not ready to be finished typing yet… here’s what my SO COOL sister gave me for my birthday:

 

2 Responses to “Eating Local”

  1. Emily Says:

    I am so jealous of your CSA share! I wish I had signed up in time. Everything looks so yummy. Cute coasters!


Leave a Reply

