Love People. Like Things.

a blog about all the people i love, and all the things i like.

Bread, Shrimp Pomodoro, and CSA Week 6 June 19, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lindsayt85 @ 7:13 am

Just want to fill you in on what’s been happening in the Thompson house over the last week. With a few words, and lots of pictures 🙂 Enjoy!

My First (and semi-failed) Attempt at America’s Test Kitchen Multigrain Bread

This was my second attempt at real bread. I have a bread maker, but I’d really like to know that I am capable of bread making without it. This turned out OK for a second attempt, and it’s definitely edible, but it wasn’t as light and fluffy as it was supposed to be. I think it was just too humid for the bread to properly rise, but if it had, it would’ve been YUMMY! This particular recipe starts with a hot cereal mix and ends with coating    the entire loaf with oatmeal. I will be trying again soon. When the weather isn’t as crazy.

Shrimp Pomodoro

I am slightly obsessed with Google Reader, and I subscribe to over 100 blogs, mostly about food, knitting, and sewing. One of the recipes I’ve starred and gazed at several times is Shrimp Pomodoro by chaos in the kitchen. We made a bunch of edits- bowties instead of penne, dried basil instead of fresh, canned tomatoes instead of fresh. It turned out really great- we definitely suggest it!!

CSA: Week 6

This may possibly be my favorite week so far! Mixed greens, cucumbers, tomatoes, potatoes, carrots, beans, BEAUTIFUL squash, and fennel! I had never seen fennel before, and I will admit that I even had to ask Robin what the heck it was. Now that I know what it is, I’m going to find a good recipe for it and hopefully I can report back that I have a new favorite veggie.

 

Leave a Reply

