Love People. Like Things.

a blog about all the people i love, and all the things i like.

greek for a day! May 16, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lindsayt85 @ 12:30 pm

One of the things I like best about Greenville is that there is always something fun to do downtown. Saturday markets, Drive games, community events and festivals. It’s so good to see the entire community coming together to enjoy new things and support so many great organizations.

Of all the things to do in Greenville, the St. George Greek Orthodox Greek Festival that happens in May each year is definitely one of my favorites. It’s all about celebrating the Greek culture by enjoying music, food, shopping, and tours of their cathedral.

The part I like the most is the food (of course!). I always get a gyro and some baklava. This year, Josh and I came home with lots of Greek goodies 🙂

Even though I had been to the Greek festival in the past, I had never taken the opportunity to tour the cathedral. I had no idea it was so beautiful!! It amazes me that something like this is in my very own town… I don’t even have to travel to some far away place to see a beautiful cathedral. I wish someone had told me about this sooner!

These beautiful mosaics are almost breathtaking. Made completely of tile, the first is the focal point of the front stage ceiling area and the second is actually upside down. The cathedral is in the shape of a cross, and the picture of Christ is on the ceiling in the middle to symbolize that you must go through Christ to get to heaven. I’ll be honest- I knew (and still know) next to nothing about the Greek Orthodox religion, but I guess I always assumed it was very different from my own beliefs. While there are a LOT of differences, I was so amazed at how similar they are.

Josh and I like being Greek for a day! It’s still going on (ends Sunday May 16th at 8pm), so you’ve still got time to go enjoy!!

 

Leave a Reply

