Love People. Like Things.

a blog about all the people i love, and all the things i like.

mystery veggie revealed May 13, 2010

Filed under: Like — lindsayt85 @ 8:30 am
Tags: ,

In my last post, I told you all about our CSA Week 1 veggies and how we weren’t exactly sure what one of the veggies was. So like I said, since we got 2 heads of ???, I would make the first batch as mustard greens and then see how that worked out. Monday night, Josh and I came home from work and started cooking.

We prepped our chicken for the grill.

We washed our broccoli rabe and prepped it for blanching (gets rid of the bitterness!).

We washed the mystery veggie. It was then that Josh decided just to taste it raw. He’s a genius. There was no distinct pungent, peppery flavor. It just tasted like…. lettuce. I tasted it with the same result- ‘this is just plain ole lettuce!’ So instead of finding out if I like mustard greens or not, we had a very lovely red leaf lettuce salad.

After we blanched the broccoli rabe, we sauteed it with some oil and garlic. Then I threw in some tomatoes for good measure and served over pasta with parmesan. Beside our salad and grilled chicken.

One other thing we did TRY to make was grilled spring onions. I think we were afraid we were cooking them too long and took them off the heat prematurely. You’ve really got to cook these babies. We couldn’t even chew them. Better luck next time I guess.

I like broccoli rabe, red leaf lettuce, and discovering new leafy things!

Broccoli Rabe with Tomatoes and Parmesan over Pasta

  • 1 head broccoli rabe
  • olive oil
  • 1 T garlic
  • grated parmesan
  • tomatoes (optional)
  • pasta (you pick!)

Put two large pots filled with water on to boil. One is for the pasta and the  other is for blanching the broccoli rabe. To blanch, put the broccoli rabe, separated into individual leaves, in boiling water for 5 minutes. Then transfer immediately to an ice water bath. Cut out all of the bulky stalk parts. Heat oil in skillet and saute garlic. Add blanched broccoli rabe and saute for however long you think you need to (10ish minutes). Here is where I added some tomatoes. Make sure you’re tending to your pasta this whole time. Now serve the broccoli rabe and parm over the pasta.

 

One Response to “mystery veggie revealed”

  1. Mary Moore Says:

    Hi Lindsey and Josh! Thanks for this recipe…sounds really good!
    Both of you are so computer savvy, I feel sure you already know about this online site for organically grown food and dairy in the upstate: http://www.upstatesc.locallygrown.net/
    They deliver in Greenwood on Thursdays…I place my order on Friday or Saturday for the next week’s delivery. I have been very pleased with everything.
    Wish we lived closer to Greenville so I could shop at Earth Fare!
    Love you and hope to see you before too, too long!


Leave a Reply

