Love People. Like Things.

a blog about all the people i love, and all the things i like.

chopped :) April 16, 2010

Filed under: Like — lindsayt85 @ 5:36 pm
Tags:

I’ve been thinking about donating my hair for quite a while and for several reasons. I have pretty (really) thick hair and it grows quickly. Working with cancer patients on a daily basis and knowing several people that have been through treatment and lost their hair makes me very aware of the need for hair donation. There are several different hair donation programs- Locks of Love, Wigs for Kids, Pantene Beautiful Lengths, etc. Each have different requirements of length, products you can/can’t use, and percentages of grey they can accept. I chose to donate my locks to the Pantene Beautiful Lengths program because it was the one with the shortest length requirements (8 inches). Also, they had the easiest donation process – just send it in!

I almost donated it before the wedding but then the whole ‘wedding up-do’ thing wouldn’t have worked out at all. Then I wanted to wait to donate it so I could let it grow even longer and donate a longer ponytail. I also thought about waiting so that when I did cut it off, I’d still have pretty long hair left. I was waiting for it to grow out to EXTREMELY long, but then it started to get really heavy. I was having headaches DAILY and my ponytails would hurt my neck. I had mentioned to Josh that I didn’t think I could wait any longer because it was getting so burdensome. And then…

Then we were parking at the mall, and saw her. A beautiful, gorgeous little girl shopping with her mother at the mall. And she didn’t have any hair. And it broke my heart. As soon as Josh saw her, he simply said, “I think you need to go ahead and donate your hair. It’s selfish of us to keep it when you’ve got enough to donate and there are people like her that need it more than you.” My sweet husband has the hugest heart.

So, I made the appointment with the greatest hair stylist in the world- Erin Silver. Today at noon, she cut it all off!!!

I wouldn’t say I was nervous for me, but I think saying I was nervous for Josh is more appropriate. 🙂 I was nervous he would hate it. I was nervous it would be WAY short- I was thinking it would end up chin-length. Ironically, one of Josh’s favorite singers is Randy Travis (don’t ask… we all have our quirks). And of his favorite Randy Travis songs is Forever and Ever, Amen. One of the lines in that song is ‘But Honey I don’t care, I ain’t in love with your hair, and if it all fell out, well I’d love you anyway’. Josh kept singing that to me in the days and hours leading up to the big haircut, and it made me giggle every time! Turns out- HE LIKES IT! In his words – ‘Baby, you look hot!’ Haha.

Before and After:

I’m SO glad I did this! My neck is enjoying the fresh air, and it feels good to know it’s going to join 7 other people’s cut-off ponytails to make a wig for a person that needs it.

I like my new ‘do!

 

3 Responses to “chopped :)”

  1. Jenn Says:

    Umm you have me crying over the girl in the mall! And Josh singing to you. That is sweet. It looks awesome. Such a cool thing.

  2. Erin Says:

    LIKE your new blog…LOVE you!

  3. Mary Moore Says:

    I am just now catching up with the blog so I am seeing your new haircut for the first time. I love it! What a wonderful thing to do! You must feel much better without the weight of all the hair…and to have the added good feeling of helping someone who doesn’t have any hair is awesome! Love to you and Josh!


Leave a Reply

