Love People. Like Things.

a blog about all the people i love, and all the things i like.

he was right. April 11, 2010

Filed under: love — lindsayt85 @ 7:35 am
Tags: , ,

Have you ever gotten really excited about something and yelled out ‘I love that (thing)!’? I definitely have.

But when I was growing up, and still to this day, if I ever said that around my sweet grandfather, Papa, it would be a matter of seconds before he corrected me. And when you get corrected that many times, it just sort’ve sticks with you for life.

“No, Lindsay, you LOVE people. You LIKE things.”

He was right. Still is. And I’m glad he cared enough to teach me this. My hope is that I can begin to let that lesson live itself out in my life and how I speak. It’s important for the people in  my life to know that I love them and value them more than the things that I like.

I especially want my wonderful new husband to feel that and know that. We’ve been married a whole five weeks and one day 🙂 I am thankful for him in more ways than I can even think of right now. He is encouraging, a beautiful earthly display of Christ’s love for me, and a great leader of our little 2 person, 1 cat family. He brings me back to earth when I start spinning into orbit. One particular picture from our wedding (thanks Chris Isham Photography!) captures a moment of peacefulness in the midst of one of the best days of our lives. It’s just so beautiful and calm.

I love this man.

I can’t wait to tell each of you more about the people I love and the things I like. And if you have any suggestions, or have someone you love or something you like that you want to tell me about- leave a comment!

Loving and liking,

Lindsay

 

2 Responses to “he was right.”

  1. YAY!! I’m adding you to my blog roll, pronto. And I think I’ll say that to James, too, when he gets older… what a great mantra to adopt.

    You’re awesome.

    LOVE,
    Sara 😉

  2. Sher Says:

    I have just read your blog backwards. Found you through your awesome paper-tube flowers. Although I’ve looked at blogs of folks I don’t know before, yours is the first one that I’ve decided to follow. You’re one of my bookmarks now and everything!

    Anyway- I’m a 42 year old married mother of ano 11 year old son. I am a special ed teacher and home sick with shingles.

    Hope Papa doesn’t mind if I say, I love your words.


Leave a Reply

