Love People. Like Things.

a blog about all the people i love, and all the things i like.

Pickling Party! July 24, 2011

Filed under: Like — lindsayt85 @ 7:12 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Many of you know that Lovey and I have a half share of a CSA in Spartanburg so we get a huge basket of amazing veggies every Thursday. Sometimes we end up with more than we know what to do with! And I feel REALLY bad throwing it away.

So I decided to get creative and pickle our extras. I made spicy pickled okra and pickled squash, pepper, and onions.

The pickled okra were the easiest. I used this recipe but I’m pretty sure I didn’t have the entire amount of okra called for, but that worked out because I only had one jar to put them in.

The next step is the hardest. Stick the jar in the fridge and wait for a week. Eeesh!! This is more of a test of patience than a test of cooking ability. I’ll have to do a follow up post in a week to tell you the results.

The pickled squash, pepper, and onions were almost as easy, but took quite a bit longer. Once you get all your squash, peppers, and onions all cleaned and chopped, put them in a pot and cover with a TON of salt.

Two hours later, prepare the brine. While the brine is boiling, pour off the salt water produced in the veggie pot. Pour the brine over the veggies and let sit for another two hours. Once that timer goes off, pour it in a jar and process in boiling water for 10 minutes.

I also haven’t opened up this jar to taste either. I’m just too proud that my water bath processing actually worked and the lid popped down and everything! I’ll be saving this jar until later in the winter when there are no summer squash invading my counter space.

Once all this was done, my entire house smelled like a huge pickle. I’m pretty sure I smelled like a pickle too. Maybe making two different kinds of pickles at the same time in the same day was a bad idea…

 

2 Responses to “Pickling Party!”

  1. Rob Says:

    I have some ideas about what you can do with all the extra produce.

  2. Mary Moore Says:

    Yummy!! Everything on this page looks delish!!!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers